Spread the love

The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC), the broadcast industry regulator has sanctioned 86 broadcasting stations in nine zones of the country for various offenses resulting in contravention of the provisions of the Nigeria Broadcasting Code.
The stations were fined N11.8 million, with each getting up to N100, 000 fine.
Head Public Affairs at NBC, Mrs. Maimuna Jimada, who confirmed the sanction, said the contraventions included breaches of the rules on vulgar lyrics, unverifiable claims and hate speech.
A detailed list of the errant stations and the sanctions applied showed that NBC investigated 10 zones across the country and discovered that broadcast stations from nine of the 10 zones contravened the Nigerian Broadcasting Code.
The zones investigated include Abuja, Benin, Enugu, Ibadan, Jos, Kaduna, Lagos, Maiduguri, Sokoto and Uyo.
Among the 10 zones, only one zone, which is Sokoto zone complied fully with the broadcasting code and was not fined.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here